Central Ohio ASHE Members-

It is with great pleasure that your local chapter of ASHE is now accepting applications for our 2017 Project-of-the-Year Award. I know many members were involved in exciting projects that were completed this past year. if you are one of them, please consider supporting your chapter’s scholarship program by entering one or more of your projects into this annual competition.

Please see the attached flyer for entry details and an official entry form. For questions, please contact Mike Killian (


Mike Killian

ASHE Public Relations

The 2017 ASHE Project of the Year Entry Flyer and Application is now available. The award deadline is March 2, 2018.  There will be a $100 entry fee that will be credited to the ASHE Central Ohio Scholarship fund.  If any member of the submitting team is an ASHE Highway Club Corporate Sponsor Member, the fee for the first project fee is waived.

2017 Project of the Year Application

This page features details on the project and personal awards given out by ASHE Central Ohio, as well as the ASHE National Person of the Year Award.

Project of the Year Award

2016 – Project Exceeding $5 Million

Sawmill Parkway Extension


Designed by: Burgess & Niple

Contractor: Trucco Construction

Owner: Delaware County


2016 – Project Under $5 Million and Peer Choice Award Winner

Delaware U.S. 23/Pennsylvania Ave. Improvement Project

Pennsylvania Ave

  • Designed by: ms consultants
  • Contractor: Trucco Construction
  • Owner: City of Delaware, Public Works Department

Past Project of the Year Awards

2015 – Project Under $5 Million:

Spring and Long Multimodal Conversion

2014 – Project Exceeding $5 Million:

I-71/670 Interchange Reconstruction

2014 – Project Under $5 Million:

Lithopolis-Winchester Road Bridge Rehabilitation


2013 – Project Exceeding $3 Million:

I-270 & Roberts Rd. Diverging Diamond Interchange (DDI)


2013 – Project Under $3 Million:

County Rd. 794 (W. Blee Rd.)


2012 Project Exceeding $3 Million

Rich Street Bridge Replacement

Grand Illumination Scioto Mile Bicentennial Park Columbus Ohio

  • Designed by Burgess & Niple.
  • Click here for additional information.
2012 – Project Under $3 Million
Cosgray Road and Shiers-Ring Road Roundabout


  • Designed by American Structurepoint.
  • Click here for additional information.

2011-2012 Project of the Year Winner
Alkire Road Widening and Railroad Bridge Replacement.
  • Designed by TranSystems Corporation.
  • Construction completed by Shelly and Sands.
  • Project owner is Franklin County.

2010-2011 Project of the Year Winner
UNI-161-12.98 Industrial Parkway Project
  • Designed by Burgess & Niple,
  • Construction completed by Turco Construction.
  • Project owner is The City of Dublin.
  • The project scope included traffic operations analyses, environmental documentation, preliminary and detailed design and final plan development to reconstruct the interchange and secondary roadways.

2009-2010 Project of the Year Winner
NCR-2 North High Street Project
  • Designed by MS Consultants
  • Project owner is The City of Columbus

Person of the Year Award

The Person of the Year Award is actually named the Meritorious Service Award. The award is presented at the discretion of the Board of Directors for recognition of a member’s service to highway users throughout Ohio.

Meritorious Service Award Recipients – Central Ohio
  • 1991-1992: Bill Baker (Posthumously)
  • 1992-1993: John Circle
  • 1993-1994: Fred Hempel
  • 1994-1995: Marvin Boring
  • 1995-1996: Ron Zook (also 1995 National Person of the Year)
  • 1996-1997: Bernard Hurst
  • 1997-1998: Philip L. Hall
  • 1998-1999: Roland Nesslinger (also 2000 National Person of the Year)
  • 1999-2000: Ken Miller
  • 2000-2001: Not awarded
  • 2001-2002: Dave Jones
  • 2002-2005: Not awarded
  • 2005-2006: P. Frank O’Hare

National Robert E. Pearson / Person of the Year Award

For more information on the National ASHE Robert E. Pearson / Person of the Year Award, please click here.

Past National Person of the Year Award recipients from Central Ohio
  • 2000-2001: Roland A. Nesslinger
  • 1995-1996: Ronald Zook
  • 1990-1991: Wayne Kauble